Marktplatz 4, 55430 Oberwesel
If walls could talk, the old walls of the Weinhaus Weiler could fill entire books! The half-timbered house built in 1552 could not only tell the story of the lives of the last six generations of the Weiler family, but also share countless precious moments from the lives of so many people for whom the Weinhaus Weiler was allowed to be a home (for a time). After serving as a home for over 350 years, it was destined for greater things: Passed into the possession of the Weiler family in1889, it was first licensed in 1905 and used as a wine tavern, distillery, cooperage and wine trade. The foundation stone of its current purpose as a hotel was laid by Jakob Weiler in 1935, when he installed the first seven guest rooms. In 1980s, the face of Weinhaus Weiler was decisively shaped by Trudel and Klaus Weiler, who took over the business in 1987 and steadily and lovingly restored and modernised it until October 2019, giving it its unique and romantic signature. Three new guest rooms were refurbished on the second floor, which are now equipped with air conditioning. Since 2020,the business has been merged with the Hotel Römerkrug, which continues to expand with the additional five guest rooms at Marktplatz 1. The hotel is currently run by young and international Oberweselers. The deep and sincere attachment to the region, the romantic Middle Rhine Valley, ran like a red thread through the house and concept: it lent itself to expression in the close networking and cooperation with the hotel and restaurant businesses on both sides of the Rhine and, not least, in the strong commitment to the World Heritage Site "Upper Middle Rhine Valley" in the valley of the Loreley.